APC BX850M battery teardown

Also Sold As / Retail Channel Equivalent: BX850M-LM60 Same OEM manual or cartridge listing.

Bare cells needed
1 x 12 V 9 Ah
Max DC draw
51.8 A
OEM cartridge
RBC17
Cell size
151 x 65 x 94 mm
In inches
5.94 x 2.56 x 3.70 in
Terminal
F2
Rating
850 VA / 510 W
Topology
Line Interactive
Waveform
Simulated / Stepped
Transfer time
8ms typical : 10 ms maximum
OEM list price
$103
DC bus
12 V
Last verified
2026-11-01
LiFePO4 at full load
RED

What battery does the BX850M actually use?

The BX850M uses RBC17, which holds one 12 V block rated 9 Ah on a 12 V DC bus. It fits a 151 x 65 mm bay with F2 terminals. This model has no serial-number split that we could find.

Specs and where each one comes from. T1 is the manufacturer, T2 is a teardown or industrial cross-reference.
SpecValueSource
VA and watts850 VA / 510 WT1 se.com
TopologyLine InteractiveT1 se.com
Waveform, in the OEM's wordsStepped approximation to a sinewaveT1 se.com
Transfer time8ms typical : 10 ms maximumT1 se.com
OEM cartridgeRBC17T1 se.com
OEM list price$103T1 shi.com

A reseller lists 150.9 x 65 mm. Full RBC17 teardown

PLAN VIEW, TO SCALE: CASE FORMATS151 mm65Standard 7-9 Ah (this page)CSB HR1234WF2, 94 mm case height151 mm51Slim 6 AhCSB HR1224WF2F1, 94 mm case height90 mm705 Ah cubeCSB HR1221WF2, 102 mm case heightFASTON TAB WIDTH, ENLARGEDF1 4.75 mm / 0.187"F2 6.35 mm / 0.250"

How many DC amps does the BX850M pull?

At its full 510 W rating, the BX850M pulls about 51.8 A from its 12 V bus, and about 59.2 A as the battery sags to 10.5 V cutoff. Those figures assume 82% inverter efficiency, because APC doesn't publish one for battery mode.

DC current by AC load, on the 12 V bus and at 10.5 V cutoff
AC loadNominalAt cutoff
25 W2.5 A2.9 A
60 W6.1 A7.0 A
100 W10.2 A11.6 A
200 W20.3 A23.2 A
255 W25.9 A29.6 A
300 W30.5 A34.8 A
510 W51.8 A59.2 A

Is LiFePO4 safe in the BX850M?

A 12 A BMS limits the BX850M to about 118 W, well below its 510 W rating. At full load the verdict is RED. A single block avoids series balance drift, so light loads suit LiFePO4. APC doesn't support this swap. Drag the slider below to test your own load.

25 WBMS ceiling 118 W510 W

RED: BMS trip hazard

DC draw now
25.4 A
At 10.5 V cutoff
29.0 A
Safe AC load
118 W
Stock 9 Ah AGM9.1 min
12V 9 Ah high-rate AGM12 min
LiFePO4 10 Ah0 min (BMS OVERCURRENT TRIP)

BX850M: lead-acid anchored to OEM half and full-load runtimes, LiFePO4 on a flat energy curve with inverter tare, at 82% inverter efficiency. A real inrush can trip a BMS below this ceiling. RBC17 teardown.

Maximum safe AC load by BMS continuous rating, on the 12 V bus
BMS continuousSafe AC loadShare of 510 W
10 A98 W19%
12 A118 W23%
15 A148 W29%
20 A197 W39%

How long will the BX850M run on each battery?

APC publishes about 8.9 min at 255 W and 2 min at 510 W on the stock cells, and our curve passes through both points. The 12V 9 Ah high-rate AGM option adds runtime in the same case. Drag the slider for your own load.

Estimated runtime in the three options, with a 12 A BMS for LiFePO4
AC loadStock 9 Ah12V 9 Ah high-rate AGMLiFePO4 10 Ah
25 W2.3 hr2.5 hr2.5 hr
60 W49 min57 min79 min
100 W27 min32 min51 min
200 W12 min15 min0 min, BMS trip
255 W8.9 min11 min0 min, BMS trip
300 W6.2 min8.0 min0 min, BMS trip
510 W2.0 min2.6 min0 min, BMS trip
APC's published runtime against raw Peukert and this site's calibrated curve
LoadAPC publishedRaw PeukertThis siteSource
255 W8.9 min10 min8.9 minT1 se.com
510 W2 min4.4 min2 minT1 se.com

Upgraded AGM scales from the anchored curve, with k = 1.18 standard and 1.12 high-rate. LiFePO4 uses a flat energy curve with inverter tare. Method.

Which replacement should you buy for the BX850M?

There are three routes for the BX850M. Path A swaps in one bare cell and reuses your harness. Path B adds LiFePO4 for loads under 197 W, by the listing's 20 A claim. Path C replaces the whole UPS, which makes most sense for units over six years old.

The three routes compared
PathBest forLoad limitMain risk
A: bare SLA swapLowest cost, any load510 WTerminal or case mismatch
B: drop-in LiFePO4Light loads, long life197 W on the listed 20 ABMS trip, charger mismatch
C: native LiFePO4 UPSA unit over 6 years old, or high loads800 WSlower transfer than this UPS

Path A: the bare-cell SLA swap

Surge-safe, because AGM has no BMS to trip.

Mighty Max ML9-12 12V 9Ah F2
Standard AGM, F2. The like-for-like choice.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →
CSB HR1234WF2 12V 9Ah High Rate (the high-rate option)
High-rate AGM, F2. Holds up best at UPS discharge rates.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →

Path B: drop-in LiFePO4

Safe to about 197 W if the listing's 20 A BMS is continuous, or 118 W at 12 A. Check your load before you click.

12.8V 10Ah LiFePO4, F1 terminal
Listing claims a 20 A BMS and doesn't say whether that is continuous.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →
F1 to F2 terminal adapters, pair (2 adapters needed)
One pair covers one cell.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →

Path C: a native LiFePO4 UPS

Worth it if this UPS is 6 or more years old, if a fault above isn't a battery problem, or if you need more than the BMS limit. Listings and reviews put Goldenmate's transfer at 8 to 20 ms, against this unit's 8ms typical : 10 ms maximum, so check that your PC tolerates it.

Goldenmate 1000VA/800W LiFePO4 UPS
Built-in LiFePO4. Check its transfer time against your PC.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus
Listing claims 10 ms switch-over. A power station, not a tower UPS.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →

How do you move the BX850M harness to bare cells?

You move the factory leads from the old block to the new one, in the same polarity. Unplug the UPS first, and tape each lead as it comes off, because the battery stays live. Sealed sleds must be opened first. No soldering is needed.

FRONT ELEVATION: 1 x 12 V, 12 V DC BUSNEW CELLtabs F2+−RED TO UPS (+)BLACK TO UPS (−)each cell 151 x 65 x 94 mm
  1. Shut down the load, turn the UPS off and unplug it from the wall.
  2. Take a photo of the wiring. Open the battery door or sled and slide the pack out.
  3. Pull the red clip off the positive tab, and tape it straight away.
  4. Remove the black lead and tape it.
  5. Check the new cell has the right size and tabs, then add any adapters from the parts list.
  6. Fit the leads one at a time, matching your photo, and remove the tape only from the lead you are fitting.
  7. Slide it back, plug in and charge for the time the manual gives before relying on it.
  8. Recycle the old cell at a battery retailer. Never bin lead-acid.

Sixty seconds is the best case for a loose-cell unit. Sealed sleds need opening first, and opening them may affect your warranty and APC's equipment guarantee.

How much do you save over the RBC17?

RBC17 lists at $103, and one bare cell costs about $34.94 at a non-Amazon single-unit price, saving roughly 66%. That reference is a premium CSB block from one store, so cheaper brands may save more. Check Amazon for its current price.

List price against a non-Amazon reference, not an Amazon price
ItemPriceSource
Official RBC17 MSRP$103T1 shi.com
Typical Commodity Bare-Cell Band (Non-Amazon Reference): 1 x CSB HR1234WF2$34.94T2 batterystore.com
Saving when you reuse the harness$68.06 (66%)computed

What do the BX850M alarms and fault codes mean?

APC Back-UPS Pro BX user guide lists 13 signals we track for the BX850M. Only 2 of them point to the battery, and 8 mean you should not buy batteries yet. Read your signal below first, because a new battery won't fix a charger, a relay or an overload.

BX850M: signals and what to do. Source: APC Back-UPS Pro BX user guide.
SignalMeaningWhat to doBattery swap?Source
4 beeps every 30 secondsRunning on battery. Usually a power cut, not a dead batterySave your work. This alone is no reason to replace the battery.Not a faultT1 manual
Continuous toneThe battery backup outlets are overloadedUnplug something. A new battery won't help.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual
Chirps every 2 secondsBattery disconnectedReseat the battery connector before you order anything.Check first, then decideT1 manual
Continuous chirpingThe battery failed the automatic testReplace the battery. Mute pauses the chirping.Path A swap fixes thisT1 manual
Replace Battery iconEnd of battery lifeReplace the battery as early as you can.Path A swap fixes thisT1 manual
F01On-battery overloadTurn it off, unplug non-essential equipment, turn it back on.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual
F02On-battery output shortTurn it off, unplug everything, turn it on, then reconnect one item at a time. If it trips with nothing connected, contact support before buying cells.Check first, then decideT1 manual
F03On-battery Xcap overloadThe manual says you can't correct this yourself. Contact support, and if the unit is out of warranty compare Path C.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual
F04Clamp shortThe manual says you can't correct this yourself. Contact support, and if the unit is out of warranty compare Path C.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual
F05Charge errorThe manual says you can't correct this yourself. Contact support, and if the unit is out of warranty compare Path C.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual
F06Relay weldingThe manual says you can't correct this yourself. Contact support, and if the unit is out of warranty compare Path C.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual
F07TemperatureThe manual says you can't correct this yourself. Contact support, and if the unit is out of warranty compare Path C.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual
F09Internal errorThe manual says you can't correct this yourself. Contact support, and if the unit is out of warranty compare Path C.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual

How do you reach the battery in the BX850M?

On the BX850M, the manual says: removable battery door. the manual names no tools. Inside there is one battery of about 151 x 65 mm. Check the details below before you start, turn the unit off and unplug it first, and photograph the wiring so you can match it later.

Physical access for the BX850M, from the OEM manual where stated
FieldValueSource
Battery door accessRemovable battery door. The manual names no toolsT1 manual
Cell orientationNot stated in the manual we capturedsame manual
Harness connector typeNot stated in the manual we capturedsame manual
Cell layout1 x 12 V, single blockverified