APC BX1350M battery teardown

Also Sold As / Retail Channel Equivalent: BX1350M-LM60 Same OEM manual or cartridge listing.

Bare cells needed
2 x 12 V 7 Ah
Max DC draw
41.2 A
OEM cartridge
APCRBC123
Cell size
151 x 65 x 94 mm
In inches
5.94 x 2.56 x 3.70 in
Terminal
F2 check yours
Rating
1350 VA / 810 W
Topology
Line Interactive
Waveform
Simulated / Stepped
Transfer time
8ms typical : 10 ms maximum
OEM list price
not published
DC bus
24 V
Last verified
2026-11-01
LiFePO4 at full load
RED

What battery does the BX1350M actually use?

The BX1350M uses APCRBC123, which holds two 12 V blocks in series rated 7 Ah on a 24 V DC bus. Each block fits a 151 x 65 mm bay with F2 terminals. This model has no serial-number split that we could find.

Specs and where each one comes from. T1 is the manufacturer, T2 is a teardown or industrial cross-reference.
SpecValueSource
VA and watts1350 VA / 810 WT1 se.com
TopologyLine InteractiveT1 se.com
Waveform, in the OEM's wordsStepped approximation to a sinewaveT1 se.com
Transfer time8ms typical : 10 ms maximumT1 se.com
OEM cartridgeAPCRBC123T1 se.com

APC lists a 24V 7Ah module, which is two 12V 7Ah blocks in series in the standard 151 x 65 mm format. We have no teardown, so check when you open it. APC lists this for the BR1000G, BX1350M and SMT750RM2UC. The two-cell layout is inferred from its 24V 7Ah rating. Full APCRBC123 teardown

PLAN VIEW, TO SCALE: CASE FORMATS151 mm65Standard 7-9 Ah (this page)CSB HR1234WF2, 94 mm case height151 mm51Slim 6 AhCSB HR1224WF2F1, 94 mm case height90 mm705 Ah cubeCSB HR1221WF2, 102 mm case heightFASTON TAB WIDTH, ENLARGEDF1 4.75 mm / 0.187"F2 6.35 mm / 0.250"

How many DC amps does the BX1350M pull?

At its full 810 W rating, the BX1350M pulls about 41.2 A from its 24 V bus, and about 47.0 A as the battery sags to 21 V cutoff. Those figures assume 82% inverter efficiency, because APC doesn't publish one for battery mode.

DC current by AC load, on the 24 V bus and at 21 V cutoff
AC loadNominalAt cutoff
25 W1.3 A1.5 A
60 W3.0 A3.5 A
100 W5.1 A5.8 A
200 W10.2 A11.6 A
300 W15.2 A17.4 A
405 W20.6 A23.5 A
810 W41.2 A47.0 A

Is LiFePO4 safe in the BX1350M?

A 12 A BMS limits the BX1350M to about 236 W, well below its 810 W rating. At full load the verdict is RED. Packs in series can drift apart on the charger, so balance them first. APC doesn't support this swap. Drag the slider below to test your own load.

25 WBMS ceiling 236 W810 W

RED: BMS trip hazard

DC draw now
12.7 A
At 21 V cutoff
14.5 A
Safe AC load
236 W
Stock 7 Ah AGM18 min
12V 9 Ah high-rate AGM29 min
LiFePO4 10 Ah0 min (BMS OVERCURRENT TRIP)

BX1350M: lead-acid anchored to OEM half and full-load runtimes, LiFePO4 on a flat energy curve with inverter tare, at 82% inverter efficiency. A real inrush can trip a BMS below this ceiling. APCRBC123 teardown.

Maximum safe AC load by BMS continuous rating, on the 24 V bus
BMS continuousSafe AC loadShare of 810 W
10 A197 W24%
12 A236 W29%
15 A295 W36%
20 A394 W49%

Balance every pack first. Two independent BMS boards on one series charger can drift apart, and one can cut off early. Series drift and 0 V lockout explained.

How long will the BX1350M run on each battery?

APC publishes about 10.1 min at 405 W and 2.5 min at 810 W on the stock cells, and our curve passes through both points. The 12V 9 Ah high-rate AGM option adds runtime in the same case. Drag the slider for your own load.

Estimated runtime in the three options, with a 12 A BMS for LiFePO4
AC loadStock 7 Ah12V 9 Ah high-rate AGMLiFePO4 10 Ah
25 W4.5 hr6.4 hr4.3 hr
60 W1.6 hr2.4 hr2.4 hr
100 W52 min82 min1.6 hr
200 W23 min38 min53 min
300 W14 min24 min0 min, BMS trip
405 W10 min17 min0 min, BMS trip
810 W2.5 min4.4 min0 min, BMS trip
APC's published runtime against raw Peukert and this site's calibrated curve
LoadAPC publishedRaw PeukertThis siteSource
405 W10.1 min9.8 min10.1 minT1 se.com
810 W2.5 min4.3 min2.5 minT1 se.com

Same footprint, 28.6% more rated capacity. Upgraded AGM scales from the anchored curve, with k = 1.18 standard and 1.12 high-rate. LiFePO4 uses a flat energy curve with inverter tare. Method.

Which replacement should you buy for the BX1350M?

There are three routes for the BX1350M. Path A swaps in two bare cells and reuses your harness. Path B adds LiFePO4 for loads under 394 W, by the listing's 20 A claim. Path C replaces the whole UPS, which makes most sense for units over six years old.

The three routes compared
PathBest forLoad limitMain risk
A: bare SLA swapLowest cost, any load810 WTerminal or case mismatch
B: drop-in LiFePO4Light loads, long life394 W on the listed 20 ABMS trip, charger mismatch
C: native LiFePO4 UPSA unit over 6 years old, or high loads1000 WSlower transfer than this UPS

Path A: the bare-cell SLA swap

Surge-safe, because AGM has no BMS to trip. 7 Ah and 9 Ah cells share the 151 x 65 x 94 mm case, so 9 Ah adds 28.6% rated capacity.

2 x Mighty Max ML9-12 12V 9Ah F2
Standard AGM, F2. The like-for-like choice.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →
2 x CSB HR1234WF2 12V 9Ah High Rate (the high-rate option)
High-rate AGM, F2. Holds up best at UPS discharge rates.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →
2 x Mighty Max ML7-12F2 12V 7Ah F2 (like-for-like)
Like-for-like 7 Ah, F2.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →

Path B: drop-in LiFePO4

Safe to about 394 W if the listing's 20 A BMS is continuous, or 236 W at 12 A. Check your load before you click.

2 x 12.8V 10Ah LiFePO4, F1 terminal
Listing claims a 20 A BMS and doesn't say whether that is continuous.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →
2 x F1 to F2 terminal adapters, pair (4 adapters needed)
One pair covers one cell.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →

Path C: a native LiFePO4 UPS

Worth it if this UPS is 6 or more years old, if a fault above isn't a battery problem, or if you need more than the BMS limit. Listings and reviews put Goldenmate's transfer at 8 to 20 ms, against this unit's 8ms typical : 10 ms maximum, so check that your PC tolerates it.

Goldenmate 1500VA/1000W LiFePO4 UPS
Built-in LiFePO4, for loads above 800 W.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus
Listing claims 10 ms switch-over. A power station, not a tower UPS.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →

How do you move the BX1350M harness to bare cells?

You move the factory jumper and leads from the old blocks to the new ones, in the same polarity. Unplug the UPS first, and tape each lead as it comes off, because the battery stays live. Sealed sleds must be opened first. No soldering is needed.

FRONT ELEVATION: 2 x 12 V, 24 V DC BUSCELL 1tabs F2+−CELL 2tabs F2+−RED TO UPS (+)BLACK TO UPS (−)each cell 151 x 65 x 94 mm
  1. Shut down the load, turn the UPS off and unplug it from the wall.
  2. Take a photo of the wiring. Open the battery door or sled and slide the pack out.
  3. Pull the red clip off the positive tab, and tape it straight away.
  4. Remove the black lead and tape it. Then lift off the jumper between the cells, with its fuse if your harness has one.
  5. Check the new cells have the right size and tabs, then add any adapters from the parts list.
  6. Fit the jumper first, from the positive of one cell to the negative of the other. Fit the leads one at a time, matching your photo, and remove the tape only from the lead you are fitting.
  7. Measure about 25 to 27 V across the two outer leads before you close the pack. Slide it back, plug in and charge for the time the manual gives before relying on it.
  8. Recycle the old cells at a battery retailer. Never bin lead-acid.

Sixty seconds is the best case for a loose-cell unit. Sealed sleds need opening first, and opening them may affect your warranty and APC's equipment guarantee.

How much do you save over the APCRBC123?

We can't state a saving for APCRBC123, because we found no published list price for it. Any figure here would be a guess, so this page leaves it out rather than estimating one for you. Compare the list price with your own quote.

What we have
ItemStatus
APCRBC123 list pricenot published
Verified bare-cell referencenone

What do the BX1350M alarms and fault codes mean?

APC Back-UPS Pro BX user guide lists 13 signals we track for the BX1350M. Only 2 of them point to the battery, and 8 mean you should not buy batteries yet. Read your signal below first, because a new battery won't fix a charger, a relay or an overload.

BX1350M: signals and what to do. Source: APC Back-UPS Pro BX user guide.
SignalMeaningWhat to doBattery swap?Source
4 beeps every 30 secondsRunning on battery. Usually a power cut, not a dead batterySave your work. This alone is no reason to replace the battery.Not a faultT1 manual
Continuous toneThe battery backup outlets are overloadedUnplug something. A new battery won't help.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual
Chirps every 2 secondsBattery disconnectedReseat the battery connector before you order anything.Check first, then decideT1 manual
Continuous chirpingThe battery failed the automatic testReplace the battery. Mute pauses the chirping.Path A swap fixes thisT1 manual
Replace Battery iconEnd of battery lifeReplace the battery as early as you can.Path A swap fixes thisT1 manual
F01On-battery overloadTurn it off, unplug non-essential equipment, turn it back on.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual
F02On-battery output shortTurn it off, unplug everything, turn it on, then reconnect one item at a time. If it trips with nothing connected, contact support before buying cells.Check first, then decideT1 manual
F03On-battery Xcap overloadThe manual says you can't correct this yourself. Contact support, and if the unit is out of warranty compare Path C.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual
F04Clamp shortThe manual says you can't correct this yourself. Contact support, and if the unit is out of warranty compare Path C.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual
F05Charge errorThe manual says you can't correct this yourself. Contact support, and if the unit is out of warranty compare Path C.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual
F06Relay weldingThe manual says you can't correct this yourself. Contact support, and if the unit is out of warranty compare Path C.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual
F07TemperatureThe manual says you can't correct this yourself. Contact support, and if the unit is out of warranty compare Path C.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual
F09Internal errorThe manual says you can't correct this yourself. Contact support, and if the unit is out of warranty compare Path C.Do not buy batteriesT1 manual

How do you reach the battery in the BX1350M?

On the BX1350M, the manual says: removable battery door. the manual names no tools. Inside there are two batteries of about 151 x 65 mm. Check the details below before you start, turn the unit off and unplug it first, and photograph the wiring so you can match it later.

Physical access for the BX1350M, from the OEM manual where stated
FieldValueSource
Battery door accessRemovable battery door. The manual names no toolsT1 manual
Cell orientationNot stated in the manual we capturedsame manual
Harness connector typeNot stated in the manual we capturedsame manual
Cell layout2 x 12 V, in seriesinferred